These are your emotions talking. Why are we on a roller coaster?

So, today, I checked my email two minutes before I had to go to work. I do this, because I never get emails two minutes before I go to work. But it makes me feel useful and aware of things that are happening on the internet.

Today I got an email two minutes before I went to work. I saw that it was titled “residence,” and I went “huh?” And then I read it, and it informed me that a residence room had been reserved for me at my top choice university, please to send monies.

This is when I panicked on the internet at Moon Unit. She reminded me gently that I had to go to work, and do the hyperventilating while walking. SO I DID. And I managed to convince myself that the university residence office wasn’t talking to the admissions office. Since I’d applied in a separate application to either office, clearly the right hand wasn’t talking to the left hand.

That’s about when I got myself down to sanguinity again. *plods home for lunch* AND OH LOOK THERE ARE PARENTS AND THEY HAVE A PACKAGE FOR ME I LOVE PACKAGES THIS ONE IS FROM A UNIVERSITY THAT LOOKS EXCITING OH MY IT HAS A FOLDER WITH A BOOK AND A LETTER IN IT AND IT SAYS “CONGRATULATION AND WELCOME TO OUR COMMUNITY.” This is when the hugging and jumping about started.

And then they wanted it read aloud. That’s when I noticed that it was addressed to John McDonald.

I may not have explicitly mentioned my name on this blog, but I can assure you that it does not begin with John, and neither does it end with McDonald. That’s about when I looked at my lunch, and saw that it was a burned grilled cheese and lumpy cream of mushroom soup. Which seemed appropriate. *slurches about the lunch table* *eats one corner of the black sandwich*

And THEN- oh yes, internets, this story goes ON- I gave up on eating and called the admissions office.

Have a paraphrase of the conversation.
Me: “Oh hai, university which I dearly want to get into. I got this letter today, it kinda thinks I’m a guy. What’s up with that?”
Uni: “Oh yes, he got the letter today, saying he’s a woman, and he doesn’t agree with that either, so we’re sending out new packages today. Lolz.”
Me: “So- I’m in?”
Uni: “No, of course not. JAY KAY you’re totes accepted. We want your brain.”
Me: “!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

So I went back to work, where I was utterly useless all day, due to a tendency to skip about in high heels, and read the glossary of my university calendar.

P.S. The soup and sandwich were delicious.

3 thoughts on “These are your emotions talking. Why are we on a roller coaster?

  1. ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

    CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRATS FIVE MILLION TIMES OVER!!!!! That's so fantastic! So where is this place? And what are you studying? (I forget because there were several schools and BAH I'M HAPPY FOR YOU!)

  2. AUGH, comments weren't notifying me! I had COMMENTS and I didn't KNOW! *hugs you all, teary*

    Ahem.

    @Kemendraugh: *hugs back* Thank you, my love! 😀
    @Bahnree: 😀 😀 😀 😀 St. Thomas is in Fredericton, New Brunswick, where my Grandparents live, actually. And I'll be studying, um…. Arts and Humanities? *cough*

Leave a comment