State of the me: University updates

SO. I’m going to school. At least that’s the plan. But you see, going to good universities in other provinces has a nasty habit of costing money. So right now my status is setting out on the great traditional money hunt. (Or panicking over the money hunt, but shush, don’t burst my bubble.)

In the hunt, I’ve found these options, which I am now weighing and panicking over. As one does.

Scholarships/Endowments: Sometimes people give you money to go to school!

  • Pros: You don’t have to give the money back! w00t!
  • Cons: You have to have things like grades and leadership ability and extra-curricular things to show them, or fiscal need. I have the fiscal need, but not so much the others. Plus, they’re on the September-start calendar, which means I can’t get them before January. Eeshh.
  • Verdict: Look into it, but don’t expect lots of free money.

Government Loans: Sometimes the government will lend you money to go to school!

  • Pros: It’s a well-established process. And there’s money on the other end. 
  • Cons: Just- it’s the government. They have a habit of taking the money away. Plus they make you jump through hoops a lot. As I’ve technically been working part-time for the past two years. I’m not even sure if I’m eligible.
  • Verdict: Only one way to find out if I’m eligible. 

Bank Loan: The banks LOVE to lend you money.

  • Pros: It builds your credit, you only pay interest on the part you use, and it’s definitely available. 
  • Cons: I’m not sure if I have enough credit for one on my own, I may need a counter-signatory. 
  • Verdict: A solid option. But try for free money first

Work: I can make the darn money myself first, then start in September. Like an effing ADULT.

  • Pros: No debt! Pride and satisfaction!
  • Cons: I wouldn’t be able to start for another 10 months. The fact that this makes me want to swear a lot, probably isn’t a great sign. Plus I’m not sure if it would be at ALL good for my mental health.
  • Verdict: If all other options fall through, God wants me to do this. Like an ADULT. And it’s a good option. I just don’t like it.

Military: The military will pay you to go to school! And pay for your school! And give you a job after!

  • Pros: I would get in shape. I would learn when and how to use deadly weapons. I would learn when and how not to cry. (Always assuming I survive basic training, and they want me.) I would have a job. I would learn French. I would have SO MUCH writing research. And yes, given that I always seem to want to write military-related stories, and I’m very nervous about botching that, research is something I care about. I’d have to learn leadership skills, like how not to verbally abuse people you’re in charge of, how to stay in charge while letting people who actually know what they’re talking about talk, and how to not get everyone killed. Which are great things to know, I’m not gonna lie.
  • Cons: They might want me to go to RMC instead of St. Thomas. I’d get in shape. Basically it’s not a funding choice so much as a life move, and I’m not sure if I want this move. I’d have to give up writing while learning french, deadly weapons, how not to die while running, and other life skills. I’m really not sure if I can make it. It’s a seven year commitment, so I’d be 30 when I was out. 
  • Verdict: Undecided. Maybe people give me money without my life, first?

Publish a short story/Novel: Sometimes people give you MONEY for writing!

  • Pros: OMG PUBLISHED? EEEEEEEEEE??????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????!!!!!!!!!!
  • Cons: I don’t have anything ready to publish. It needs more work. Serious work. And I’ve never heard anyone in the business speak of publishing as a very “fast money” type option.
  • Verdict: Who am I kidding, I’m going for this anyhow.
So yes, that’s the state of the me. ^_^

2 thoughts on “State of the me: University updates

  1. HI.

    I think you should apply for scholarships, government loans, and and bank loans. After they get back to you, make a more solid decision based on what they need from you and of course whether they want you at all (sometimes they hate people! It's true! *tears*). Cuz then you could maybe do a loan/scholarship combo, even if you can't get all free money.
    Yes, this is a lot of work. I'm sorry.
    I also think you should keep working on your writing. Seeing as you don't have a finished edited novel (at least I don't think you do) I think this would be the same thing as working and then not going to school until Sep '11. Getting something published would probably take even longer. So I would keep working on your writing and definitely keep publishing in mind as a goal. But that's a longer-term goal, IMO, than the other options.

    I don't really think you should join the military. 🙂 But that's a HUGE decision obviously and you need to decide on that.

  2. YAY COMMENTS. *hugs you*

    I think government loans seem like a good starting point, thought their site seems to be broken. YAY LOANS PEOPLE? Bank loans also, at least are more of a guaranteed shot. Maybe. *considers this* Scholarships pretty much all hate me. *tears* So loans, while mercenary, are my only bet.

    Other than the military, or getting a lightening-strike offer from Harper Collins, yes.

Leave a comment